I declare my war against…

Don’t worry, it’s just a game!

And today I will teach it to you.

This is an outdoor game, to play on any place on which you can draw with chalk.  It’s for 5-10 people, though you could play with 4 or >10 people.  It’s usually more fun with more people.

So first you draw the ‘board’ on  the ground with chalk or brick or something.  If seven people are playing, it should look something like this:

Each square should be big enough to stand in.  It should also be big enough so that you can stand in 1/4 of it, with one foot.

Each square should be big enough to stand in. It should also be big enough so that you can stand in 1/4 of it, using one foot.  Click for bigger image.

Each person picks a country (all countries should be different), and writes the country’s name in 2-4 letters (e.g. MAD for Madagascar, UK for United Kingdom, etc.) in the corner of a square.  Then they stand in their square.

The person who starts the game will say “I declare my war against…” and then the name of a country in the game.  Suppose I am Scotland, and the starting person says, “I declare my war against… Scotland!”  then everyone has to run away as fast as possible, except me.  I will count to 10 as fast as I can, and then say, “STOP!” – It will probably sound like this:
“OneoothreefourfivesixseveneightninetenSTOP!”  At “Stop”, everyone has to stop running. (well, what else?)  Then I have to, from my square, reach any of them within 7 steps.  Running steps are fine.  Once I take 3 steps, I cannot go back and try to reach someone else instead.  If I reach the person in 7 steps, then I win, if not, the person I was aiming for wins.  Here is the important bit: The winner gets 1/2 of the property of the other person.  If the other person has more than one bit of land, I get 1/2 of the biggest part.  If the person has only a 1/4 piece of land, I just take the whole 1/4 piece!

Examples:

  • I win.  The person who lost has 1 full square, and a half square (that they won from someone else).  I take 1/2 of the full square.
  • I win.  The other person has only 1/4 of a full square.  I don’t take half this time. I rub out their country’s name, and put my own instead.
  • You win against me.  I have only 2 half-pieces of land.  You can choose which piece you want 1/2 of.  Either way, you’ll get a 1/4th piece of land.

NOTE:  If you have more than 1 piece of land, you can stand on either one, though you can’t stand on other peoples’ land, in this version of the game.  Having land all over the board comes in handy sometimes.

NOTE 2:  You can declare war on yourself.  If you do, you get to count to ten.

Just for fun, here’s the same board from before, except some kids have come and played I Declare on it.

See how Russia has land at both ends of the board?  Good for you, Russia!

See how Russia has land at both ends of the board? Good for you, Russia!

This entry was posted in By Khiyali, Games and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I declare my war against…

  1. Parinita says:

    Hmm…. Sounds like a interesting game! I’d love to play this with my friends. Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

